​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​Aron Ballo Study Visit Programme

In the year 2009, MIDAS renamed the Study Visit in memory of Aron Ballo, the Chief editor of Szabadsàg​, who lost his life in a tragic car accident doing journalistic research for his newspaper. The next Study Visit programme​​ will take place in Scuol (Switzerland) from 22-25 October 2015.

The programme seeks to provide opportunities for 5 to 10 journalists of Midas member newspapers to develop knowledge in editorial work maximizing their experience through the exchange of information. The study visit is dedicated to report on minority protection and cultural diversity issues within the context of the European Integration process.

The weekly programme integrates fieldtrips, classroom and editorial training. The journalists are assigned to work in an editorial department under the guidance of a mentor of the host-newspaper based on their interests, talents, and capabilities. In addition to this editorial training, the journalists attend a seminar on minority issues in the European context. Midas and the host-newspaper also organize fieldtrips and interviews to become more familiar with the situation of minorities in the host country.

Applicants for the programme are required to be journalists or freelancers of a Midas member newspaper. The number of the participants is limited (max. 10).The registration fee for the programme is 75 Euro. Midas and the local partners will cover travel and accommodation costs.

The deadline for the entries is 25 September 2015.

The application form​​​ should be clearly marked Aron Ballo Study Visit Programme 2015 and send to: 

Günther Rautz 

European Academy Bozen/Bolzano
Secretary General Midas
Drususallee/Viale Druso 1
I-39100 Bozen/Bolzano
E-mail: g.rautz@eurac.edu


Previous Study Visit Programmes:

BRUNECK (South Tyrol), 22 – 26 June 2016​

SCUOL (Switzerland), 22 – 25 October 2015​​

WESTRN THRACE (GREECE), 19 – 22 June 2014

BRUSSELS (BELGIUM), 6 – 9 November 2013

LUSATIA (GERMANY); 16 - 21 June 2012

SOUTH TYROL (ITALY); 8 - 12 November 2011

PÉCS (HUNGARY); 24 - 27 July 2010

TRIESTE (ITALY); 6 - 12 September 2009

BRATISLAVA (SLOVAKIA); 7 - 13 September 2008


OSTROBOTHNIA (FINLAND); 19 - 25 February 2007

​SOUTH TYROL (ITALY); 13 - 18 March 2006

CATALUNYA (SPAIN); 7 - 13 March 2005

BASQUE COUNTRY (SPAIN); 16 - 21 February 2004